‘Two for me, none for you’

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate bar
Oh I wonder what you are.

Silky to touch and burnt as sun
just like the boy of Kwasi Bunn
who goes to work and not to school
And like his dad they say a fool.

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate bar
Oh I wonder what you are.

Gentle and soft but twist to snap,
just like the sleep ended by slap,
so trees are climbed to slice and chop
for bean or thumb to pop and plop.

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate bar
Oh I wonder what you are.

Earthy and sweet for tongue and lip,
borne high in sacks on back or hip
then marched to cell for corn and paste
and wash in water fresh with waste

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate bar
Oh I wonder what you are.

Milky and rich from meadow grass
all green like boys who spray and gas
the bugs in fleshy skin and bone
to die, for what is reaped is sown

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate bar
Oh I wonder what you are.

Published in I am not a silent poet

Leave a Reply

